Quote of The Day

We have recently had a new addition to our family. So in honour of our newest granddaughter I would like to share a poem from Carol Lyn Pearson. I have always like this poem and it was only recently that I learned that it had been written by Carol Lyn Pearson.

It is called ‘Day Old Child’ and as you can understand from the title it deals with the birth of children and our reactions to the new individual that has been added to our families

 

Day Old Child

 

My day old child lay in my arms

With my lips against his ear

I whispered strongly, how I wish. . . . .

I wish that you could hear.

 

I’ve a hundred wonderful things to say

(a tiny cough and a nod)

Hurry, hurry, hurry and grow

So I can tell you about God

 

My day old baby’s mouth was still

And my words tinkled his ear,

But a kind of light passed through his eyes

And I saw this thought appear.

 

How I wish I had a voice and words;

I’ve a hundred things to say

Before I forget, I’d tell of God. . . .

I left him yesterday.

 

Carol Lynn Pearson

So n this note I will leave you for now and i hope you enjoy this poem just as much as I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems, Quotes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

