Books and Reading

Our theme for today is books & reading, I love to read. My parents made sure that I could read, as a child I had problems in learning how to read. But once I got the hang of it I have never stopped. I have my favourite types of books that I love to read, but my personal library covers a whole range of topics.
So here are a few quotes about books and reading books:

Books are the ever burning lamps of accumulated wisdom”

Books are always written by those who wish to share their knowledge or a desire to entertain. Nowadays we have two main classifications of books. Fiction & Non-Fiction, with numerous sub-classifications in each, my favourites in the fiction department is westerns and science fiction. In non-fiction it is history; primarily, family history and related subjects, though I will read anything that interests me. And my library shows the range of topics that interest me. Going from archaeology; family history; history; martial arts; Quotes; poems; westerns; science fiction to religion etc.

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body.”

Who has not felt invigorated and refreshed after they have read a good book? I know I have. Often when we are feeling down about some challenge we face or are just feeling down, reading can either give us an idea on how to solve our challenges or refreshes our mind and enables us to face the challenges that we have with a better view or outlook.

“The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.”
James Bryce

I have always when I have been reading gained something from them, either being able to relax or gained some insight into the subject I have been reading about. As people who know me can attest I tend to get really involved in what I am reading, and can at times become oblivious to everything else around me.

“Never judge a book by its movie.”
J Egan

My wife and I have always enjoyed watching both the “Harry Potter” and the “Twilight” series of movies. But we have both found that the books on which both movie series are based on are much better than the movies as they contain more information than they can put into the movie itself.
Well I hope you enjoy these quotes and get a benefit from them; till next time, have fun people.

P.S. Let me know if you have interesting quotes that you would like to share.

Leave a comment

Filed under Quotes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

