Friendship

Some 35 years ago when I served as a proselyting missionary for, “The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints”, I learned a little saying that has guided my life since that time.

“People don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care.”

I think that this is self-explanatory in that if you want to impart your knowledge to someone in order to help them; they need to know that you care about them as an individual or person, and not as a means to an end or a statistic. Another that goes along with it is:

“Friendship is a plant we must water often.”

While I served as a missionary my mission president called me and asked me to get him a copy of a poem that my mother had related while he attended a conference in Sydney, Australia. It was called; Touching Shoulders, unfortunately I do not know who wrote it originally. But it relates the value of friendship and how good friendships can strengthen us.

 

Touching Shoulders

There’s comforting thought at the close of day,
When I’m weary, lonely and sad,
That sort of grips hold of my crusty old heart and bids it be merry and glad
It gets in my soul and drives out the blues,
And finally thrills through and through
It is just a sweet memory that chants the refrain,
“I’m glad I touched shoulders with you”.

Did you know that you were brave, did you know you were strong?
Did you know that there was one leaning hard?
Did you know that I waited, listened and prayed
And was cheered by your simplest word.
Did you know that I longed for that smile on your face?
For the sound of your voice ringing true.
Did you know that I grew stronger and better because I had merely
Touched shoulders with you!

I am glad that I live; that I battle and strive
For the place that I know that I must fill
I am thankful for sorrows; I’ll meet with a grin.
What fortune may send, good or ill.
I may not have wealth, I may not be great,
But I know I shall always be true.
For I have in my life that courage you gave,
When once I rubbed shoulders with you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems, Quotes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

